Haunted Mountain Theater


MOR volunteers and docents contributed almost 30,000 hours of volunteer service in 2018. Needless to say, we couldn’t provide many of our museum services without our talented and dedicated volunteers, and they provide vital support to the museum and our community as a whole. In return, MOR volunteers enjoy the camaraderie of working with visitors, staff, and their counterparts; opportunities for life-long learning; and the satisfaction of knowing they are making a valuable contribution. 

Volunteer opportunities range from staffing activity carts to preparing fossils, helping with our Museum Family Days, joining a benefit event planning committees, putting together mailings, and giving guided tours. Plus, each summer volunteer interpreters at the Living History Farm demonstrate the day-to-day activities of a Montana farm in the 1890s.

MOR is looking for volunteer docents to give guided tours. If you’re interested in continuing education and would like to give tours to groups of all ages in the museum, then being a docent may be for you. An exciting 12-week training program begins in early September for all new trainees. Registration is through September 1. 

For more information about volunteer and docent opportunities at the Museum of the Rockies, please call the Volunteer Office at 406.994.6611 or email museumvolunteers@montana.edu.

To apply to the volunteer program, please click here


2019-2020 Volunteer Board

President – Ro Meyer
Vice President – Sandra Oldendorf
Secretary – Linda Racicot
Docent Chair – Peggy Kimmet
Representatives – John Carnegie, Joyce Davis, Michelina Kazeminejad, Diane Knipfer, Margie Peterson, Dar Wilson

2019-2020 Docent Board

Docent Chair - Peggy Kimmet
Vice Chair - Gail Beaudoin
Secretary - Cindy Glass
Representatives - Pat Flaherty, Bruce McNab, Colleen Proffitt, Mattie Whitehouse